FSU Credit Union was recognized by the League of Southeastern Credit Unions & Affiliates (LSCU) with the First Place Dora Maxwell Award for credit unions in its asset division for exhibiting excellence in community social responsibility in 2018.  As a first-place winner, FSU Credit Union (FSUCU) will continue to the national level to compete against its fellow credit union peers across the country.

Pictured (left to right): FSUCU Marketing Director Jessie Watson, FSUCU VP of Operations Chris Wallace, LSCU Senior Director of Government Affairs – Florida Jennifer Martin, FSUCU President/CEO Chuck Adcock and FSUCU CFO Jennifer Durden.

The Dora Maxwell Award recognizes credit unions that have shown outstanding social responsibility and service to the community, advancing the credit union industry philosophy of “People Helping People.” FSUCU was chosen for the first-place award from nominations submitted to the LSCU, which represents 342 credit unions in Alabama, Florida and Georgia.

“We are very proud to be recognized with the coveted Dora Maxwell award,” commented FSU Credit Union President/CEO Chuck Adcock.  “Under the mantra of Champions for Change, the board, management, and staff of FSU Credit Union are committed to being champions for important causes by supporting local organizations that also give back to the communities where FSUCU members live and work.”

In 2018, through several initiatives, FSU Credit Union donated just over $85,000 to local schools and charities, the FSU Foundation, and a scholarship fund at Florida State University. Also, in the wake of the catastrophic damage caused by Hurricane Michael in the fall of 2018, FSU Credit Union committed all the administrative funds raised through its Skip-A-Pay program to hurricane relief efforts. The credit union donated $13,000 to employees of local credit unions who were devastated by the storm, in addition to more than $15,000 to the hurricane relief funds of the Community Foundation of North Florida and Southeastern Credit Union Foundation.

The Credit Union Award is named after Dora Maxwell who organized her first credit union in 1920 and secured charters for hundreds of credit unions throughout the United States. She was one of the 33 signers of the charter creating the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) in 1934.

Recommended Posts
Check and ink penTurboTax Sweepstakes